Skip navigation
All Places > Community Feedback and Information > Blog > 2018 > May
2018

In all the excitement last week about the FileMaker 17 launch, you may have missed a few other things FileMaker updated last week.

 

First, our team redesigned our website. We added new pages aimed at developers and IT professionals. Both of these pages answer the questions we hear most often from those audiences like "Is the FileMaker Platform robust enough for me?" "Does the FileMaker Platform meet my security requirements?" and many others.

 

Second, we updated all the Custom App Academy tutorials (aimed at developers building their first app with the FileMaker Platform) and a new tutorial about what's New in FileMaker 17 that goes into a little bit of detail about 5 new features.

 

Third, we updated our Events page to include the meetups, group meetings, and special events showcasing the FileMaker 17 Platform the community is presenting around the world during the next 2 months. If your event is not listed, please submit it here.

 

Finally, we announced some Meet FileMaker 17 webinars.

These English sessions are all on Tuesday, June 5:

• 8:00 am PDT, 11:00 am EDT, 3:00 pm GMT Learn more

• 11:00 am PDT, 2:00 pm EDT, 6:00 pm GMT Learn more

• 4:00pm PDT, 7:00pm EDT, (June 6) 10:00AM AEDT Learn more

I'll share details for webinars in other languages as they become available.

 

Last week in the Community was incredibly busy. You all made 500 posts (new discussions/questions or responses) every day last week; January to April 2018 averaged about 300 posts per day. Please keep that in mind if your question wasn't immediately addressed. If you're waiting for an answer, try replying to yourself with a bit more context or details to bump your question to the top of the list.

 

There was a lot posted about the FileMaker 17 release last week. I'm not going to highlight the things that already caught everyone's attention. Instead, here are three things you may have missed:

 

Insert From URL, FMA 17 Issue - highlights a change in the cURL libraries used on macOS and iOS.

Where to install FMS 17 license certificate - what to do with the license certificate file when installing FileMaker Server 17

Any good tutorials & tips for v17 Data API? - answers still needed here

 

Here are a two other discussions that caught my eye last week:

Record Locking Via Privilege Sets - Watch a group of experienced developers troubleshoot and resolve a complex scripting problem. It's a good read to see how to step through a problem and figure out why your code isn't doing what you expect it to.

Manually changing layout returns first record. Why? How to fix? - an explanation of a sometimes confusing behavior when using the Manage Layouts window to switch layouts

 

For everyone with a Monday holiday next week, enjoy your long weekend! I'm looking forward to mine.

First, thank you to everyone who took a few minutes to complete the FileMaker Community Survey. We were flooded with responses. You shared thoughtful and helpful insights. Once we've analyzed the data, I'll share what we learned. As we develop our long term plan for the future of the FileMaker Community site, I will share that as well. We will be closing the survey on Tuesday, May 15, so if you haven't completed it yet please do.

 

Second, this post is a bit of an experiment.

 

Have you ever wondered what topics were hot recently in the FileMaker Community?

Does the automatic digest leave you wondering why certain topics showed up?

Would a weekly greatest hits column be helpful to you?

 

To answer those questions, I've started looking more closely at some of the data the FileMaker Community generates every week. One thing I'm looking at are what threads have the most replies and what threads are most viewed every week.

 

For the next month or so I'll publish a roundup highlighting a handful interesting threads from the previous week. If there's a good response over the next several weeks, this will become a regular feature.

 

Here are a few things that caught my eye during the past two weeks.

 

Learning the FileMaker Platform

Checking a check box based on whether or not a field has data in it.

Totals by month by department

 

Exploring best practices

Which font is best for Mac/Windows compatibility? This is an old thread with a bunch of helpful new material (link is directly to the new material).

How do you name key fields? And why? davidhead is looking for insights to bring to his session at DevCon in August.

 

Intersting discussions

The Extinction of IT I admit that this discussion caught my eye thanks to my 10 years as a Consulting Engineer working with FileMaker's biggest US customers.

Re: Should FM Become a Framework?

Wordpress to FM16  Since this is a frequent question, is anyone interested in writing blog post that pulls together the best tips and examples from within the FileMaker Community and outside of it? If you are, please send me a message.

 

Most viewed correct answer

SQL: How to GROUP BY one column when multiple are selected? This was one of the most viewed threads during the last 2 weeks. When you click "Mark as Correct" button on a response to questions you ask, then that question and answer are more easily found by the next person with the same question.