Searching on Checkboxes

Version 1

Hi All, I'm pretty new to FMP and I've been using Bento and loving it as long as it worked. But as you know, it's been discontinued and the latest version of the Mac IOS really killed the app forever.

So I used the migration tool and got all of my data from Bento over to FMP.

I've learned how to create a script and I'm using for automated searches.

I want to search on some checkbox items and I can't figure this out. "Show all of the entries that have a certain checkbox checked".

thanks if you can help, best, Peter

Without going into any possible caveats, in the simplest form you

• enter find mode (press cmd/ctrl-F, select the command from the View menu …)

• check the desired value in the checkbox

• press return (or click the Perform Find icon the toolbar)

Where this can get complicated is when you have a field with multiple check boxes. If you enter mind mode and select more than one, what result do you want?

Your script can find only the records that have all the selected values or you can set up a script that finds records with any one of those values.

Hi and many thanks for this!

Sorry to be slow in getting back. Turns out I had a month of studio work and had to leave the database learning aside. But I'm back and have around 4 things I need to work out.

Your directions work and thanks for this.

I'm still hoping to create a script that can do a search on a checkbox.

I can include a version of my database file that is slimmed down to 2 entries and it would demonstrate the issue.

Any ideas?

all best, Peter

Hi and many thanks for this!

Sorry to be slow in getting back. Turns out I had a month of studio work and had to leave the database learning aside. But I'm back and have around 4 things I need to work out.

I'm still hoping to create a script that can do a search on a checkbox.

You wrote: