JSON Parsing Strategy

Document created by ThierryGuemboura on May 11, 2018Last modified by ThierryGuemboura on May 11, 2018
Version 4Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

I am writing this document to share my findings regarding the recent development of a "Bridge" between a proprietary REST API and FMP16.

Our community has many documents and questions pertaining to the subjects, nevertheless, when I was a newbie on the subject, I did not find a document that would describe well how to approach a daunting response made of 32,235 characters. Please writer, whom ever you are, accept my apologies if this document exists.

1. JSON Terminology: (not my words, taken from the Internet)
    1. A JSON text is either an object, e.g. { "a" : 5 } or an array e.g. [1, 2, 3].
    2. A JSON value is either a JSON text or JSON Simple type where a JSON Simple type is either a JSON literal, a number, a string.
    3. A JSON literal is one of following three false, null or true.
    4. The literals false and true are called Booleans.
    5. A number may be either an integer or a floating-point number.
    6. There is no limit on the precision or size of numbers, but as soon as these are converted to another representation then the limitation of that representation must of course be respected, e.g. if an integer is extracted to an integer variable then the value must be between -2^63 and 2^63-1, otherwise the extraction step will produce an error.
    7. JSON strings must start and end with a double quotation mark (") and may contain any Unicode character except ", \ or control character (these characters may be escaped using \, e.g. \", \\ and \r.
  1. JSON Syntax
    1. JSON Text = JSON Object | JSON Array
    2. JSON Object = {} | { Properties }
    3. JSON Array = [] | [ items ]
    4. Properties = Property, Properties
    5. Property = String : JSON Value
    6. Items = JSON Value, Items
    7. JSON Value = JSON Text | String | Number | false | null | true