Toolbar Find/Delete hazard

Idea created by dburnham on Nov 9, 2015
    Active
    Score-3

    When using the default set of icons in the Browse Mode and Find Mode, it is too easy to inadvertently invoke the Delete Record command after pressing the Perform Find button.

     

    Users wonder why they are seeing the dialog: "Do you want to permanently delete this record?"

     

    The reason is because the buttons are too closely aligned to one another and a superfluous click in Find Mode is buffered and then works when the find request results in one or more records being shown in Browse Mode.

    Untitled 2.png

     

    If this was something like an open manhole cover on a city street that people would fall into or car wheels would get damaged by, there would be a cover put on it immediately.  This thing is dangerous because a deleted record is gone forever just as the dialog warns.