1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2014 6:29 AM by TomPingel

file sharing issue

TomPingel

Title

file sharing issue

I have very little experience with file sharing, and none recently.

I will not be using FM server, but will be accessing a host database from an ipad with FMgo.

I'm trying to test the remote open on my macbook. I open the host db in FM13 Advanced and the client file in FM Pro 12 (both on the MacBook).  Both files have File Sharing turned on. Both files are running. Neither file 'sees' the other one when using 'local hosts' (both show the same 'host').

Am I missing something?

• 1. Re: file sharing issue
          philmodjunk

Have you enabled the files for sharing? Each file needs to have "all users" specfied for it in the sharing window after you have first opened them.

• 2. Re: file sharing issue
            TomPingel

Yes - both sharing windows look like this image

• 3. Re: file sharing issue
              philmodjunk

But you have the "Don't display in Open Remote File dialog" option selected. That's the very dialog where you are looking for these files and not finding them. Bring them back up in this dialog, select each in turn and clear this check box.

• 4. Re: file sharing issue
                TomPingel

Thanks. I thought that meant not to display the current file, not the shared files.

All is good now - as long as I open the host file first.

Thanks again

• 5. Re: file sharing issue
                  Sorbsbuster

Are you trying to have one file, accessible from two places?  Or have you two files: "I open the host db in FM13 Advanced and the client file in FM Pro 12 (both on the MacBook)"?  I don't think that description is correct, as I don't think you will be able to run two instances of filesharing on the one Mac.