Filemaker over 3G and a VPN

Absols

Title

Filemaker over 3G and a VPN

FileMaker Pro 10Client PCs: XP Service Pack 3, 2 GB Ram

----------------------------------------------------

FileMaker Server 10Server: SBS 2003, 4 GB Ram intel xeon

----------------------------------------------------

All have latest service packs\updates (os and filemaker)

-----------------------------------------------------

I have no experience with Filemaker (I’m just the poor network tech told to get it to work)

The database only shared over the local network.

Hi

We currently have two laptops (Client PC's Spec) used by Project Mangers.

They use the laptops on site visits to do surveys.

They return to the office at least one a day.

They want to enter the data whist doing the survey.

This would save many hours typing the data into Filemaker.

They are trying to connect to a Filemaker database via 3G connection over a VPN. 

The VPN works file, Filemaker is very slow and we have had reports of lost data.  

(I.E inputted data into a form, lost connection, regained connection. The previously created data could not be found.)

My questions are:

1.       Is they a way to optimize the database to work better over the VPN?

2.       If so how?

3.       If not could the database be published to the web.

If it was, could the Project Managers access the databases user

interface as though they were accessing from their Filemaker pro apps?

4.       Would Remote Desktop\Terminal Services be better?

5.       Is there another way to connect, other than the three I’ve suggested,

can Filemaker work with a local database then sync when connected to the LAN in the office?

Any help or advice would be great.

Thanks..  

• 1. Re: Filemaker over 3G and a VPN
          jonnyt

Option 1) Use IWP on filemakler server and create web optimised layouts