5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2013 7:02 AM by philmodjunk

FileMaker Pro 12- how to relate inventory total against outgoing invoice items?

OmCrosland

Title

FileMaker Pro 12- how to relate inventory total against outgoing invoice items?

Hi,

I am new to FileMaker Pro and I wondered how do i get the inventory unit total to be related to the invoicing items?

1) I know you have to add relationships into there ut I'm not sure how. If someone could give me step-by-step instructions that would be much appreciated.

2) Also how do I add a button to use a barcode add-on script? I have added it to the external data source already.

Many thanks.

• 1. Re: FileMaker Pro 12- how to relate inventory total against outgoing invoice items?
          philmodjunk

1) This depends on the design of your tables and how you need to manage inventory. Inventory systems generally work of 1 or both of two approaches:

1) You log each inventory change in a "transactions" table. If you sell X copies of Item A, a record logging the removal of X copies of item A is created in the transactions table. Other transactions might log inventory changes for product manufactured, shipped out, consumed, lost, damage or.... Your inventory total then uses a relationship matching by Item ID to sum the quantities added and subtracts the quantities removed. The FileMaker 12 starter solution uses this method and you may want to consult this thread on the subject:

http://forums.filemaker.com/posts/445739f103?start=1&stop=10#211358

2) You count the items on hand and the updated count now becomes your inventory totals for each item. Modified versions of this do a "cycle count" where a different portion of the total inventory is counted and updated on a regular basis. Essentially, you start with a count can compute the amount of change to your inventory.