6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2010 7:30 AM by LisadeAraujo

Filemaker to MySQL - basic question

LisadeAraujo

Title

Filemaker to MySQL - basic question

I've successfully created a connection via ODBC to a MySQL database and have the tables all synched up, but I can't work out how to get the data from the Filemaker Pro database into the MySQL database. So far the documentation hasn't been entirely forthcoming.

Could someone point me to the documentation for this or suggest how this is done?

• 1. Re: Filemaker to MySQL - basic question
          basilisk2

I was under the impression that this technique was used for people who stored data in a MySQL database, but accessed it via Filemaker which gave more powerful layout and reporting possibilities... so I guess you are upgrading to MySQL for its cheap sharing potential (it is after all, free) and want to export your data from the FM db to the MySQL db?

I am only a newbie though, so please don't rely on anything I say! LOL!

HTH

• 2. Re: Filemaker to MySQL - basic question
            LisadeAraujo

My customer has a rather complex FMPro database holding all their ordering and product data and pricing that I want to display on their website. The hosting company supports php and MySQL, so obviously I would use that.

I have successfully linked up the tables, but can find no way of getting the data from FMPro to MySQL. ideally this would be a seamless task that would occur automatically whenever they updated the FMPro database.

Anyone have any pointers?

• 3. Re: Filemaker to MySQL - basic question
              basilisk2

Couldn't you just export the data as a csv file and then import it to the MySQL database? That is how most databases swap data between themselves.