1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 28, 2014 5:54 AM by philmodjunk

Filemakering me crazy

DSolomon

Title

Filemakering me crazy

Hi,

I am new to Filemaker and i have watched hours of video and read hundreds of very helpful forum posts but I just cannot seem to get a table relationship to work out.

I understand the basics of table pk/fk and the one to many etc but rather confused with to's.

As part of a bigger solution I am trying to create a quoting solution.

"Companies" have many "Contacts"

"Companies" have many "Quotes"

"Quotes" have many "Quote Line Items"

I am wanting two drop down lists at the beginning of a new quote, one to display companies and then the second to display active contacts within the company that was selected above.  Any help achieving this will be greatly appreciated.

Dave

• 1. Re: Filemakering me crazy
          philmodjunk

What You describe are these relationships and this assumes that a given contact may only be linked to a single company (which is not always the case in every real world situation.)

Contacts>----Companies-----<Quotes------<LineItems

Companies::__pkCompanyID = Contacts::_fkCompanyID
               Companies::__pkCompanyID = Quotes::_fkCompanyID
               Quotes::__pkQuoteID = LIneItems::_fkQuoteID

What you ask for would be a condtional value list that is "filtered" by two items of data: 1) the currently selected company on your current Quote records and 2) the Contact is somehow marked as "active" in the Contacts table. I'm going to outline how to set this up here, but include references to my new "Adventures In FileMaking #1" file that illustrates the techniques that I am referring to in detail. You can use the link at the end of this message to access my FaceBook page and download a free copy if you are interested in it.