7 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2010 2:39 AM by LaRetta_1

filter "all"

pvhaute

Title

filter "all"

Hi,

To restict the number of records shown (in a portal for instance), one can create a self-join and link the second-instance of the table to a global field in the first-instance (the global flield should then contain the selection criterium).

I want to set the content (and therefore the filter) of this global through a script, after pushing a button.

Now, what do i set the field-content to when i want to see ALL records in the portal?

rgds,

Piet 

• 1. Re: filter "all"
          comment_1

You could define a value list using values from the matchfield, and set the global to ValueListItems ( Get (FileName) ; "YourValueList" ).

---

"criterium" ?? 

• 2. Re: filter "all"
            dinora

Hi Piet

I am not an expert on this if I am understanding correctly - I just had this issue last week if you want exact details refer to subject

'filtering portals by alphabet' 

Basically you are correct to filter a portal by criteria you create a TO and your global field etc etc

To display 'all' do another TO but the relation here is going to be X which means display all records- Go from Parent Table id X TO # 2 id

Then on the layout where you are intending to use this set up tabs and place a portal from each of these TO's on different tabs naming one "All" and the other one by your filer criteria.

I hope this helps

Thanks

Dinora

• 3. Re: filter "all"
              philmodjunk

You're getting some good advice.

There is another approach that keeps a single portal but works with a more sophisticated field of values to make "All" a viable option.

If you want to try that, here's how.

Say you have the following table

CategoryField | NameField:

Fruit | Strawberry

Fruit | Apricot

Vegetable | Lettuce

Vegetable | Carrot