8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2011 1:50 PM by LWayne_1

Filtering a Related many table in a one to many relationship

LWayne_1

Title

Filtering a Related many table in a one to many relationship

I am new to FileMaker Pro but I am familiar with MS SQL.  I have two tables StockMaster and Prices with a one to many relationship.  On a periodic basis, less say weekly, I would like to calculate the current market value of stocks by multiplying the shares in the StockMaster table against the price on a certain day in the Prices table, the many table.  I have tried a global date field in the StockMaster table and set up a relationship using symbol in each table and second using the global date field in the StockMaster table with a PriceDate field in the Prices table.  However I receive all records from the Prices table instead of just the records that match the global date field. Can anyone point me in the right direction to return only the records for one days prices?

A filtered portal in my case will not work with what I am trying to accomplish.  Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Filtering a Related many table in a one to many relationship
          philmodjunk

What you described with your global field should work.

Create this relationship:

StockMaster::Symbol = Prices::Symbol AND
          Stockmaster::GlobalDate = Prices::PriceDate

This matches the current record in StockMaster to the first record in Prices that matches the stock symbol and the date entered into the global date field. The key here is to have both pairs of fields defined in one relationship.

A calculation field defined in StockMaster can then compute number of shares times Price:

NumberOfShares * Prices::Price

• 2. Re: Filtering a Related many table in a one to many relationship
            LWayne_1

PhilModJunk -