9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2015 9:24 AM by philmodjunk

filtering portal records with more than one popup menu

jmyers.svt

Title

filtering portal records with more than one popup menu

I have a popover established with a 'Products" portal in order to add fields to a 'workorderlineitems' portal on a work order. The problem im having is with filtering the products portal. I have two popups that run off value lists that reflect qualities of each product. (Category and Brand). I also have a search field. 

Im fairly new to FM and am having issues with getting these to sort properly. I have tried several different methods by looking at example files but still come up short. Any guidance is greatly appreciated. Ive attached a screenshot of the popover. 

Thanks

addlineitempopover.PNG

• 1. Re: filtering portal records with more than one popup menu
          philmodjunk

Am I correct that if no Category is selected, you want products from All Categories and if No Manufacturer is selected you want products from all Manufacturers?

What logic did you implement for the search text? Equals, Starts with or "contains"?

In other words, If you typed in "Ap" as search text field would it only show a product named "Ap"? or would it also show "apple", "ape" and "applesauce"? Would it also match to "Wrapper"?

All of the above is possible, but the resulting filter expression gets pretty complex.

• 2. Re: filtering portal records with more than one popup menu
            jmyers.svt

I was trying to use 'contains' for the search feature. Right now I essentially have a blank slate because everything I have tried has failed.

Edit - you are correct in the assumption that if no category or brand is selected that it would display all products.

• 3. Re: filtering portal records with more than one popup menu
              philmodjunk