5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2014 2:28 PM by philmodjunk

Filtering records in Table view

AlejoEscrivá

Title

Filtering records in Table view

Hi to everyone!

Im quite new in FileMaker, awesome soft.

I have a list view that shows records from "Purchases" table, each one with its details and picture that`ll be used to make a custom product. Each Order (or Purchase) has its own status coming from a value list I created, showing values from a table called STATUS.  Id like to filter these orders by status. Basically Id like to pull from a value list placed on the header whichever status Id like to filter all records so if i want to see only Orders with status "in process" or "delivered" i just need to choose from this value list.
           And it would be really handy also having a new layout only showing records from same "Purchases" table with status "delivered".

Thanks a lot.

• 1. Re: Filtering records in Table view
          philmodjunk

Please note that a "list" view and a "table" view are two different options for viewing a layout. (You've used the terms interchangeably here.) I recommend list view over table view for most tabular style views of your data.

If the drop down field in your header is given global storage in field options in Manage | database, you can use a script similar to those found here: Scripted Find Examples You can use a script trigger such as onObjectModify or OnObjectSave selected for the drop down field to perform this find script.

• 2. Re: Filtering records in Table view
            AlejoEscrivá

PhilModJunk  ,

thanks for your reply. You`r right, i meant List View all the time. Thought I tried to understand the post you linked, and tried several times to make it work, there is something clearly Im not doing right.