7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2014 8:47 AM by philmodjunk

Filtering Similar To Excel

sawmkw

Title

Filtering Similar To Excel

I am new to FileMaker (two weeks) and have been able to do most of what I need to thus far.  I have a layout with one underlying table and would like to "filter" on the values in one of the columns in the way Excel does.  I have seen dozens of posts on portals and child tables but I simply want to give the user the ability to eliminate showing all records except a subset.  Can this be done?

• 1. Re: Filtering Similar To Excel
          philmodjunk

It can be done. in fact, there many different options.

Here's the simplest method, but there are many other options that can also be used:

Enter Find mode. Enter or select a value in the field for that column.

Click Perform Find.

• 2. Re: Filtering Similar To Excel
            sawmkw

I was pretty sure it was possible but would like to do it in a script.  I created the pop-up in the attached image and hoped to be able to put together a script that used the selected value from OnObjectExit and then update the layout.  Is this too messy?

Thanks for the quick response.

• 3. Re: Filtering Similar To Excel
              philmodjunk

Then "but I simply want to give the user the ability to eliminate showing all records except a subset." was a tad vague don't you think?

If the field in the Popover is given global storage one of the scripts in the following thread can be adapted to perform the find. But I'd be inclined to add a "Find" button inside the popover that closed the popover and performed the find script. That just seems a bit more obvious to the user in terms of what they need to do. But OnObjectExit on the popover frame, not the button, should also work to perform such a script.

Scripted Find Examples

• 4. Re: Filtering Similar To Excel
                sawmkw