12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2009 11:42 AM by JMillerSki

Filtering Values for a list by date range

JMillerSki

Title

Filtering Values for a list by date range

I have a series of values with a start date and end date.  I want to make a value list of these for a drop down box.  So like this:

Table 1 Fields : Start Date, End Date, TargetValue

I want to populate a field in Table 2 with the targetvalue list where Start Date <= Get(CurrentDate) <=End Date

That way I get all of the values that are current.  I think a self join figures in somewhere but I'm new to FM (working in a demo version for now) and can't get it to work.  

Thanks in advance.

(I tried a calc field where the filter was :

FilterValues ( tAdSchedule::Source Code; tAdSchedule::Run Date ≤ Get(CurrentDate) ≤ tAdSchedule::End Date)

to no avail)

• 1. Re: Filtering Values for a list by date range
          comment_1

JMillerSki wrote:
          I think a self join figures in somewhere

I think so too. But first you need to add an unstored calculation field cToday (result is Date) =

Get(CurrentDate)

Then the self-join can be defined as:

YourTable::cToday ≥ YourTable 2::Start Date

AND

YourTable::cToday ≤ YourTable 2::End Date

Set the value list to use values from YourTable 2, include only related values starting from YourTable.

• 2. Re: Filtering Values for a list by date range
            JMillerSki
               This makes absolute total sense, but still I get no values in my dropdown box.  I checked the date, it finds today's date and today's date is in the range that I'm looking for, but no targetvalue.  I did make a relationship between the targetvalue in Table 2 and the dropdown field, should I do that relationship somewhere else?
            • 3. Re: Filtering Values for a list by date range
              comment_1