7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2012 11:48 AM by JamesSanders

Financial Calculations based on time

JamesSanders

Title

Financial Calculations based on time

Hi, I am fairly new to FileMaker 10. I am having an issue with a calculation involving time and the cost per amount of time. I am looking for help in finding a formula that will allow a field called "Total Cost" to get the total time (in increments of 15 min.) and then add the $ amount based on the total time (  i.e., if the total time is 15 min. then the cost would be $10.00, if the total time is 30 min. then the cost would amount to $20.00). I have been beating my head on my desk for awhile about this one, so, any input would be most appreciated. Thanks, James.

• 1. Re: Financial Calculations based on time
          schamblee

The calculation for field totalcost would be (time/15)*10.    You didn't state how you handle the amount if it was odd time such as 16 minutes.   If you round up to the whole 15 minutes then you would use ceiling(time/15)*10.

• 2. Re: Financial Calculations based on time
            philmodjunk

And where do you put the $10 for every 15 minutes data? Will this be the same rate in every calculation or will other data specify a different rate for different records in the table?

And what time data do you have recorded and where?

Say you have these fields in the same table:

TimeStart
            TimeEnd
            Rate
            Cost

Your calculation might be:

Round ( Rate * (TimeEnd - TimeStart ) / ( 15 * 60 ) ; 2 ) //15 minutes times 60 seconds per minute

or

Round ( Rate * (TimeEnd - TimeStart ) / 900 ; 2 )

TimeEnd and TimeStart are best defined as time stamp fields so that the calculation remains correct even if TimeStart is before midnight and TimeEnd falls after midnight. If it's never the case that the elapsed time will be more than 24 hours and will never cross the midnight hour, you can use fields of type time instead of TimeStamp.