12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2014 11:17 AM by mgores

Find across tables

mgores

Title

Find across tables

I have a solution I built a while ago and it was working until this morning.

It is a tracking solution  for our company that tracks "jobs" that  are received.  Each department has their own tracking file that is related to the Master.  In my departments file I had a script to list current jobs that performed a find on OMIT master:dateshipped >=1/1/1999. In the department file layout the dateshipped field and other common fields displayed are from the Master file.

It was working fine until I started playing in the master file this morning and added some relation ships in the Master file back to the individual files.  I haven't gotten in this deep for a while, could the other relationship from the Master back to the Dept file have messed up that find?

• 1. Re: Find across tables
          mgores

Another possible cause?  Our network administrator did me a favor and saved a backup of the Master file so I have an archive and be able to delete some records that are several years old.  The problems is that it is an exact copy and is running on the server just like the real Master file.  It has the same relationships and everything still intact.  Could that be what is causing issues? The timing seems right.

• 2. Re: Find across tables
            philmodjunk

Am I correct that you have relationships linking tables in different files to each other? You may want to review the external data source references carefully. External data source references use file names and one of several types of file paths to find and open the specified file when a reference to that file is needed. It's possible that one or more external data source references in one or more of your files is connecting to the wrong copy of your master file.

• 3. Re: Find across tables
              mgores

BTW -  this is in FM11 for what it's worth.