6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2013 11:23 AM by philmodjunk

Find all non empty fields?

JohnWK

Title

Find all non empty fields?

Hi-

Context: I'm pretty new to filemaker pro.  I've got about 2000 fields which will be either blank or contain a comment by the end of the year.  I'll need to regularly print out reports that contain all the comments made in those fields for each person in my database.  

So my main problem is: how do I get filemaker to create a report that contains the name and contents of all the nonempty fields in a table.

Multiple searches about selecting all non empty fields have turned up nothing, so I figured I could make a script do the following:

select first field in a table.

if it's not empty, print the field name in the report, then print the text from the field into the report.  

if It's empty, ignore it.  

Move on the to the next field. 

Repeat for every field in the table.  

I can do the select first field, then select next field, and I can figure out how to loop it i think, but I can't seem to find a way to check if the selected field is not empty, and if it's not, then print its name and its contents in a report.   Is that possible?  

• 1. Re: Find all non empty fields?
          philmodjunk

I've got about 2000 fields

Whoa! 2000 fields in ONE table?!!!!! surprise Sounds very likely that you have a need for a much different data model that doesn't try to pack so many fields into a single table. Each "comment" should be in a different record instead of a different table of the same table.

• 2. Re: Find all non empty fields?
            JohnWK

The fields are all divided into different tables, so I've got between 200-300 in each table.   I've been trying to work out a different data model, but it really makes the most sense for each comment to be in an individual field, because it will be so much easier to input and then track later on.   '

So is "print all non empty fields" not an option?