4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2012 5:34 AM by CharlesVogan

Find and display a related field

CharlesVogan

Title

Find and display a related field

Help!  I'm brand new at this. 

I figured out how to set up a layout for our school class schedule for the year, and I even figured out the drop down list!  That's about as far as I can get without getting into exotic stuff, right?

What I can't figure out is how to get that classID to go out to the related field from the classes file and bring back the class name, and write it on the screen where I have the xxxx's. Does this involve a script? Variables?  Triggering?  All this is new to me, and I can't figure it out from any directions I've looked at.  Supposedly I can get that field - but displaying it is beyond me. 

Step by step directions for a novice, please? If I can do this, I'm home free.

Filemaker_Screen_shot.jpg

• 1. Re: Find and display a related field
          philmodjunk

I assume that ACC 401 is your classID field.

If you have this relationship:

LayoutTable::ClassID = Classes::ClassID

where "layout table" is the table occurrence specified for your layout and "Classes" is the table where we'll find the class name, then what you need is simple to do. (if the listed classes shown are in portals, use the Portal's table instead of the layout's in the above relationship.)

Enter layout mode.
          Use the field tool to add a new field to your layout next to the ClassID field.

The specify field dialog appears. Select Classes (use your name instead of mine), from the drop down at the top.

click your class name field to select it and then click OK.

This has added the name field from the related table to your layout and it should then show the correct class name for each listed record.

• 2. Re: Find and display a related field
            CharlesVogan

Ah yes!  Getting closer!  I was linking the wrong fields.