5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 18, 2015 8:25 AM by philmodjunk

Find/Search Speeds

Title

Find/Search Speeds

Hi,

Please bear with me while I try to explain my problem!  I am very new to Filemaker.

I am currently building a database that is very simplistic at the moment.  It consists of 4 tables.  The first table deals with imports on a daily basis.  The second table is a copy of the first that allows the user to view a portal.  So far so good!  A third table is linked to the first, that allows the user to make a transaction.  It will become essentially an audit trail for every transaction made.  It is scripted to look back at its own records so that the trail is never broken.

My problem is:-  I want to use the third table's data to provide a summary of a current position.  There may be up to twenty transactions that deal with the same item.  I would require the latest modified record to be shown, which I can script.  However, there could be up to 600,000 transactions per year.  Each time I want to perform a search, it would need to search through each transaction, I would also need this to happen x amount of times to show different areas.  Would Filemaker be able to cope with this?  Would this not make it hugely slow?  Therefore, am I approaching this from the wrong angle?

I hope it makes sense.  Any help greatly appreciated

• 1. Re: Find/Search Speeds
          philmodjunk

You'd need to explain what you mean by "a summary of a current position"? What kind of data do you display at that point? What needs to be summarized? Into what kind of totals?

How many users might be expected to access this table at the same time?