11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2011 12:48 AM by StefaanVerschelde

Finding a record with a script

StefaanVerschelde

Title

Finding a record with a script

Hi all,

I am a new Filemaker pro user with the latest version of filemaker. I came over from Access.

As you can in Access create a subform in a form where you can find information about the subform. When you double click on the subform, the subform details open in a new form called the subform.

I am trying this in Filemaker but I really can't find out how I have to write the script. Can someone help me?????

The layout is called "Customer" and the related portal is called "Projects" with "ProjectID" as a related record between them.

Now I would like to open de details of the portalinformation in a layout called "Projects"

So the relationship is one to many between Customer and Projects.

Now, I don't want to see all the projects of that customer but only the I click in the portal of layout Customers.

I hope this is clear enough the get an answer.

Many thanks for the replies!

Scan_110530002.jpg

• 1. Re: Finding a record with a script
          Sorbsbuster

Welcome to Filemaker!

The portal line has a project in it, which has an identifying ProjectID (natch).  Have a script that is attached to a button on the portal row.  (You can set the button as object in the row, or make the row itself the button)

Have the script capture the ProjectID as a variable, $ProjectID.  Pick it up from the ProjectID Field through the portal relationship.

Go to the Project Table's layout, presumably in Form View.

Enter Find mode, and set the ProjectID field to be $ProjectID.

Perform Find.

Voila.

(If you find that it always brings you to the first project in the portal, let me know.)

• 2. Re: Finding a record with a script
            StefaanVerschelde

Thanx Sorbsbuster, as I am new to this, I would like you to write the script for me so I can learn from it.