5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2013 4:06 PM by philmodjunk

Finding Multi-criteria for a single field

PaulRose

Title

Finding Multi-criteria for a single field

I need some help.  I have over 300 account numbers that I need to find in a FMP 11 database with over 5000 records that I inherited.  I am a filemaker novice and the only find script I know requires me to enter each criteria( account number ) individually.  Is there a way to search from a list? Any suggestions are helpful

Script example I am using

Enter Find Mode []

Set Field [cntct_vendat_VendorData::Account_Number; "13621E"]

New Record/Request

Set Field [cnct_vendat_VendorData::Account_Number; "15632E"]

Perform Find

• 1. Re: Finding Multi-criteria for a single field
          philmodjunk

See this thread for multiple examples of scripted finds: Scripted Find Examples

There are many different ways that you can "search from a list". Can you provide an example of what you had in mind?

• 2. Re: Finding Multi-criteria for a single field
            PaulRose

Currently the list of 300 + account numbers I need to search for are in an excel file.  My end goal is to find the matching records and add them to a common group using an existing script for the end user. 

• 3. Re: Finding Multi-criteria for a single field
              philmodjunk

I'm sorry but that just repeats what you have already told me. I'm looking for more detail so that I can select from a very long list of possible answers in order to provide one that does what you need.

How will the user interact with your layout to select a particular account or group of accounts?

Or are you doing something different than that?

• 4. Re: Finding Multi-criteria for a single field
                PaulRose