10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2009 7:49 AM by crispylx

finding records between records

crispylx

Title

finding records between records

Hi, the database i get given is from another program in csv format and contains more than one table. Each table has a unique Start and End record. 

How can i find records with certain criteria within (between) these specified records.

There is probably a better way to do it and use SQL terms when importing the data into their own tables but I'm still new to filemaker and still learning.   

Any help would be great, Thanks

Chris

P.S. Sorry about the screen name, it was the only thing the forum would accept! 

• 1. Re: finding records between records
          Jens Teich
             See http://filemaker.com/help/MacTOC3.html, FileMaker's find capabilities are quite powerful.

Jens
          • 2. Re: finding records between records
            crispylx

Thanks Jens for your speedy response. I have been to each sub-link on the page you suggested but couldn't find the answer to my question. i had already looked through the manual for this. Perhaps, i can't see the wood for the trees.

Or maybe i'm not being clear.

If record 11 contained the value "start1" and record 21 contained the value "end1";  how can i say just find "x" between start1 and end 1? thus ignoring anything before record 11 and after 21?

Thanks again 

• 3. Re: finding records between records
              Jens Teich
                 Ah I didn't understand what you intend to do.

You have two tables. One with search criteria FROM and TILL and want to find all records in a different table with VALUE between FROM and TILL, right?

Create a relationship between both tables with a double condition:

- FROM < VALUE

- TILL > VALUE

and you can show your values in a portal. Or isolate them in a list with the script step GoToRelatedRecord.