1 Reply Latest reply on May 17, 2009 10:22 AM by LaRetta_1

Finding records in two different tables using two different fields

gmremson

Title

Finding records in two different tables using two different fields

I am the first one to admit that I am new to FileMaker Pro version 10 but I am also the first one to admit that I have done programming with other database programs. With that said I have been beating my head against a stone wall trying to solve a problem and hope that the brain trust of this forum can help me.

I have set up a FileMaker Pro file with two tables (Address List and Donations).

In the Address List table I have created a field called Contact_ID and made it as a serial number that is automatically generated. I use this field as a relationship to the Donations table with a corresponding field. What I am trying to do in the Donations layout is to link the address information of the person or business making the donation so that it can be properly displayed. In the Donations layout I am only entering in the amount and date of the donation which is what goes into the Donations table.

My problem comes when I am trying to have my users find the address of the person making the donation. My user can either locate the address of a "business" or a "person". These are two different fields in the Address List table. I would like to be able to use a drop-down list (alphabetically sorted) for both of these fields and when I click on the appropriate business or name have their corresponding address show up on the screen. The business name or the person's name is only being displayed and will not be allowed to have changed in the Donations layout (they will have to go to the Address List layout to make any changes). I can then enter in the donation and to date and have that correspond with the appropriate business/person who made the donation.