4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2008 1:10 PM by swc

Finding records not in a date range

MVED

Title

Finding records not in a date range

Really having a tough time with this one (and I'm new to filemaker).

Possible solution 1:  In a table that has a date field, I know how to search for records within a certain date range.  However, is there any way to display the rest of the records instead.  That is, if I keep a log of dates of students I've met with as records, how would I find the students I haven't met with between a range of dates?

Possible solution 2:  If the above is not possible, I could keep a date field next to each student record that just has the last date I met with the student.  Then would there be a way to search for student records that have meeting dates less than a specific entered date.  This way, if I could enter a new date such as 10/1/2008 in a find, then would I be able to see all students who I've met with before this date (and not after)?  This would allow me to know which students I haven't met with after a specified changeable date (in this case 10/1/2008) which is somewhat similar to the result above.

Any help would be greatly appreciated (especially if spelled out for a beginner). Sorry if it's a bit confusing!

Art

• 1. Re: Finding records not in a date range
          davidhead

Let's say that you want to search for all records where the dates are NOT between 1 January and 3 March this year:
          1. Enter Find mode (Ctrl-F or Cmd-F)
          2. In the date field, enter 1/1/2008...3/3/2008
          3. In  the status area (on the left of screen) click the checkbox to Omit
          4. Click the Find button in the status area
          And that should get you the records you want. 

• 2. Re: Finding records not in a date range
            ecjNut