10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2012 3:32 PM by FranciscoCascardo

First Email Campaign

EmilyFrost

Title

First Email Campaign

I am very new with the whole File Maker Pro software, and I am looking to create an email campaign. Once this campaign is created, will I be able to track results...meaning will I see who has opened the email or the attachment and so on? Also, instead of attaching a file or some sort to the email, can I create an HTML email within filemaker? Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: First Email Campaign
          philmodjunk

Are you using the email campaign starter solution?

You cannot generate anything but plain text emails with just FileMaker, but you could adapt this solution to use an email plug in. There are several avaialable that offer more options than just the basic capabilities built into Filemaker.

• 2. Re: First Email Campaign
            EmilyFrost

Yes, I am using the starter solution. How would I go about installing the email plug-in? Thanks

• 3. Re: First Email Campaign
              philmodjunk

First you need to select one that you think will work for you. There are several email plug ins offered by third party developers. You can web search to find the developers' sites and evaluate price and feature to select the one you want. They can also provide you with technical support specific to their product.

To add a plug in, you put it in the Extensions folder created as part of the Installation of FileMaker, then open FileMaker and Use Edit | Preferences to enable it.

• 4. Re: First Email Campaign
                billparker

I too am wanting to start an email campaign.  I am OK with plain test but I want to personilze my emails with the GIVEN name of the recipinet.   Instead of "Dear Valued Client"  I want to say "Dear John".   How do I do this?

Do I need 3rd party software?   If so, what do you recommend.

• 5. Re: First Email Campaign
                  philmodjunk