2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2010 8:06 AM by Steve Wright

FM 11 Portal Flickering Explained

Contour

Title

FM 11 Portal Flickering Explained

Background:  For the past two weeks I've been studying Portal Refresh Flashing in FM11.  I was one of the first ones to upgrade following the version's official release and I didn't have the benefit of some of the forum posts before making my purchase decision.  For the record, I have 4 years experience with FileMaker as an application developer and 20 years before that as a graphical interface designer.

Demo File:  To clearly test and demonstrate the effects in a variety of portal/layout combinations, I built a sample application.  Since I've found no way to post files to this site, it is currently available at:  Sample File

My results:

This situation is disheartening.  Although FileMaker resolved many of the flickering issues on Windows (that have plagued all prior versions), they induced flashing in portal refreshes that is worse than anything in previous versions.  <see here courtesy of SWS>  Either they didn't fully test FM 11 (very bad) or they couldn't figure out what was causing it and decided to release it anyway (pretty bad, also).  If they did so, did they seriously think this was acceptable?

But there is hope.   It's pretty clear where the problem lies -- and it's fixable ... by FileMaker, Inc.  Here's the executive summary:

The portal scroll refresh logic is too simplistic.  It attempts to fully refresh all the underlying colors/graphics on each portal scroll movement -- sort of a "better safe than sorry" approach.  The refresh sequence can be observed from the On Graphic layout of my sample file.  Note how the underlying graphic panels flash ever so briefly into view when scrolling the white portal.  The reason is that FM11 calls for an update of a specific rectangular area of the screen -- from x1,y1 to x2,y2 -- by executing the following sequence:  
          Clear the area