4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2012 1:56 PM by JimBones

FMP 11: Set Field while in Find Mode

JimBones

Title

FMP 11: Set Field while in Find Mode

Hi - Please excuse my long post. My background is in English Literature so brevity is difficult for me.  I have gleaned a TON of information from these support forums and I appreciate all the knowledgeable people here. I hope one day I can give back to the community a bit. 

First though, I need to some more learning. I am pretty green with Filemaker but I am attempting to create a new database for one of our departmental mailing lists.

The mailing lists have a code, such as 100, 101, 102, etc. Each mailing list has an appended number that tells the users when it was used previously, such as -01, -02, or whatnot, so the complete code is 100-01, 100-02 and so on.

However when these are searched, only the initial three digits will be needed, but I want to encompass all the appended numbers.

In order to do this, I have created a temporary holding table to take the user input and append a * to the data. That is, when a user inputs 100, I have that move to a table and result in 100* to search all mailing lists that start with 100. 

The problem is when I try to search these appended lists. I cannot Set Field for the mail list code and I think it has to do with this going across tables that are joined by a cartesian join (but then again I might be completely wrong). The join was created to get rid of the <unrelated table> error I received when adding the holding table data to the layout (as this holding data is on a separate table).

My end goal here is to be able to have the user enter several mail codes, then hit "search." What I want Filemaker to do is search on each mail code. My assumption is that I have to do a Find, then extend the found set each time and continue to do a find, extending it until all mail codes have been searched. 

This is my script:

Freeze Window
      #Check to ensure the Search Box has data