5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2015 4:24 AM by ToddNolan

FMP Adcanced, Runtime Solution, Converting back to a FMP Database

KCr

Title

FMP Adcanced, Runtime Solution, Converting back to a FMP Database

So, I misunderstood how the runtime solution worked and now I'm in a bind.  I converted a FMP database into a runtime solution and it runs just fine...when I'm on my Mac.  My PC compadre's cannot open the runtime solution.

Like the noob I am, I deleted the original database because I didn't want to have multiple copies of the database floating around.

Now, I would like to export/convert/etc my existing Mac Runtime Solution back into a FMP database.  That would become my master and I could make both a PC & Mac Runtime Solution.

I am totally open to suggestions as I really don't want to have to rebuild this database.  Thanks!

Kevin

• 1. Re: FMP Adcanced, Runtime Solution, Converting back to a FMP Database
          ToddNolan

I'm a noob too so others might know more than me, but I would use the command prompt to rename the "UR" or "FMPUR" file in your runtime solution folder to a .fmp12 ext... example:  database.ur  or database.fmpur  rename it to database.fmp12

I have fmpa 13 so the runtime has a .fmpur file but from what i've read it used to be a .ur file...

then it should allow you to find it in the developer binding prompt.

Goodluck!

• 2. Re: FMP Adcanced, Runtime Solution, Converting back to a FMP Database
            schamblee

You can select the file extension that the runtime uses on the database, and as stated by Todd Nolan, 12 and 13 uses fmpur by default.  This is the same database with a different file extension.   Change the file extension back to fmp12 so filemaker will recognize the file as a filemaker database.     

A runtime to run on Windows must be created in Windows, and a Runtime For Mac must be created on a Mac.

• 3. Re: FMP Adcanced, Runtime Solution, Converting back to a FMP Database
              TKnTexas