3 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2009 5:09 AM by LaRetta_1

FMP reporting

eibcga1

Title

FMP reporting

Hello all,

I'm new to FMP and a long time Excel user.

I maintain a DB to keep track of my finances in a table called Ledger, with fields for date, name, memo, account, amount, and calculation fields "total of amount" and "total of amount running with restart".  There are now over 5,000 records which I imported from accounting software which is replaced by FMP.

I also have a linked table called Accounts with fields for account name, type, account number, etc.  I have Account Name in the Accounts table linked to the Account field in the Ledger table.  I use Value Lists when doing data entry for the account name, and the name of a customer or supplier.  All is well.

Now I want to do summary reports from FMP, instead of having to export the records to Excel and run a Pivot Table.  All I need is a simple list of all accounts with the total of amount for each.  I find the New Layout / Report feature a bit confusing and never seem to get to get this simple report.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks for a great product! 

• 1. Re: FMP reporting
          LaRetta_1

Create a new columnar list/report.  (next>)

Constrain to page width

Report with grouped data (include subtotals and grand totals) (next>) ... notice how it draws the example report to the right.

Fields to put on report:  Date, Account, Amount (next>)

Organize by Account  (next>) ... see how the report groups the data by symbolic acount for you.

Sort by account (as FM indicates it needs to). (next>)  This is important; if it does not sort by account, it won't work.

Specify subtotals (click 'specify' and (from pop-up select Manage database and create a SUMMARY field called sTotal (type summary).

Specify sTotal as 'total of Amount' and say OK (and then OK to exit Manage Database return to your report creator).

Select sTotal and say OK