8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2012 9:16 AM by philmodjunk

Formatting Phone Numbers

springhouse99

Title

Formatting Phone Numbers

I am trying to format phone numbers.  I found a process in Filemaker help yet it will not allow me to save it as a calculation as it keeps saying the first ### feild cannot be found. I am a novice at this so maybe i am putting it in the wrong spot?

Here is what it says to do:

Step 1: Create the following fields 

• PhoneNumber (Text) [Set the validation to numeric only, with the max number of characters being set to 10]  Deselect Allow user to override data in this field
      • Masking (Calculation: Text) [Make sure to uncheck the field that states “Do not evaluate if all referenced fields are empty] 

Set the calculation equal to:

Choose(Length(PhoneNumber);
      (###)###-####;
      (&PhoneNumber&##)###-####;
      (&PhoneNumber&#)###-####;
      (&PhoneNumber&)###-####;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;1)&##-####;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;2)&#-####;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;3)&-####;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;3)&-&Middle(PhoneNumber;7;1)&###;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;3)&-&Middle(PhoneNumber;7;2)&##;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;3)&-&Middle(PhoneNumber;7;3)&#;
      (&Left(PhoneNumber;3)&)&Middle(PhoneNumber;4;3)&-&Middle(PhoneNumber;7;4))

• 1. Re: Formatting Phone Numbers
          philmodjunk

looks like you are missing quotes around the ## text.

"(###)###-####" ;
          "(" & PhoneNumber & "##)###-####" ;
          "(" & PhoneNumber & "#)###-####" ;

and so forth...

• 2. Re: Formatting Phone Numbers
            springhouse99