3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2014 9:12 AM by philmodjunk

Formatting reports

Holamon

Title

Formatting reports

I am new to filemaker and am trying to build a report that looks like this: 

School #1

Year              2001            2002             2003           2004
      Data 1            ####            ####             ####           ####
      Data 2            ####            ####             ####           ####

School #2
      Year              2001            2002             2003           2004
      Data 1            ####            ####             ####           ####
      Data 2            ####            ####             ####           ####

etc...

The data looks like this: 

School   Year Data1  Data2  Data3 Data4
      School#1 2001 ####   ####   ####  ####
      School#1 2002 ####   ####   ####  ####
      School#1 2003 ####   ####   ####  ####
      School#2 2001 ####   ####   ####  ####
      School#2 2002 ####   ####   ####  ####

etc, etc....

I would like for there to be a new report for every school. 

I cannot find a way to do this although I am sure it is possible.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Formatting reports
          philmodjunk

What you describe is called a "cross tab" report where data from different records has to be arranged into columns as well as rows.

There are a number of ways to do that, been doing it since FileMaker 3. The following method requires FileMaker 11 or newer:

Create a table with one record for each school. You may have such a table already as such can be useful in a number of different ways.

Link that table to your table of data like this:

Schools::__pkSchoolID = SchoolData::_fkSchoolID