5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2010 2:34 PM by davidhead

Frequency count Help needed

RafaelRodriguez

Title

Frequency count Help needed

Hello

I am a novice using FMP11 on xp and i have a database with students of a university inputted as individual records. The records have a field for what college and mjor there in. i want to get a count of how many students there are in each major within each college. any ideas?

• 1. Re: Frequency count Help needed
          davidhead

Hi Rafael

What you are describing is a sub-summary report. It would be sorted by college and then by major.

You will need a summary field to count the records in each sorted group. So that would be a field called Count of type Summary and set to count the ID field of your table (or some field that always has a value).

Then you need a layout with the following parts and fields:

Header: report title as text

Sub-summary when sorted by College: fields College and Count

Sub-summary when sorted by Major: fields Major and Count

Footer

Note that there is no Body in this report since we do not need to see the details of each record.

So to display the report, find the required records and sort by College and Major. Switch to the report layout and you will see counts for each college and each major within each college.

TS_Oz, FileMaker Inc.

• 2. Re: Frequency count Help needed
            RafaelRodriguez

How do i code the summary field to count a specific ID?

• 3. Re: Frequency count Help needed
              davidhead

To answer that question, you will need to provide more information about your data structure. What tables and what fields do you have set up? And what do you want to summarise specifically?

TS_Oz, FileMaker Inc.

• 4. Re: Frequency count Help needed
                RafaelRodriguez

Ok I have a database that i created from importing an excel file into a table called Qualit.