8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2011 7:37 AM by Terri

General question: Difference between "Calculation" and "Auto enter calculation"

Meulendijk

Title

General question: Difference between "Calculation" and "Auto enter calculation"

From a reply to an earlier post I learned that a Calculation is not the same as an Auto Enter Calculation. 

What exactly is the difference, as the formula used is exactly the same.

Jan Meulendijk 

• 2. Re: General question: Difference between "Calculation" and "Auto enter calculation"
          Meulendijk

Thanks, comment! Saved me paging back a few years.

Jan Meulendijk 

• 3. Re: General question: Difference between "Calculation" and "Auto enter calculation"
            DickK

I'm brand new to FileMaker, have Pro version 10, and have spent the day trying to understand why I was getting different results when using Calculation vs Auto-Enter Calculation. Specifically, when I changed one of the calculation parameters in the equation using Calculation the results field changed as it should. However, changing the same parameter in the Auto-Enter Calculation left the results field unchanged. I followed the past discussions and now know there is a difference. But that raises a larger question for me.

Say I created an extensive data base with some of the fields based on an Auto-Enter Calculation because I wanted the results field to be a text field. Now after all is and done I find that either I made an error in the original calculation or have to change one of the parameters in the equation.

How can I recalculate all those results fields to reflect the new parameters?

• 4. Re: General question: Difference between "Calculation" and "Auto enter calculation"
              philmodjunk

Are all the fields referenced in the calculated expression from the same table as the field you are updating?