7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2013 2:55 PM by philmodjunk

Generate a Random Number

JakeH

Title

Generate a Random Number

Hi

I'm in need of some help.

Could someone send me a database or tell me a way to do this im quite new to filemaker but i love it.

Tables:

generate - Will have the random number and intial into it.

used - Will contain the random number and intial (e.g. JH748574) so it cant ever be generated again

data - Will contain data about the user and also the random number and intial (e.g. JH748574)

Field:

id - Field name for the random number and intial (e.g. JH748574)

I need to create a database where i can enter an intial into a box (e.g. JH) then i press a button that generates and 6 digit random number and then it combines the intial box with random number generator box to generate a code like this (e.g. JH748574).

Then once that number has been generated put it in 2 different tables (used and data)

The id's in used must never be generated again from the generated  (how can this be done?)

The id's in the data table will be put into the id field but these need to be in a list.

(e.g.               id                         name                      nickname)

JH748574                Jake                         Fluggey

Thanks Jake.

• 1. Re: Generate a Random Number
          philmodjunk

How will you use this value once generated?

A simple auto-generated serial number can be used to uniquely identify records without needing this random but not quite random value.

And in FileMaker 12, you have the option of using Get ( UUID ) to uniquely identify records.

I can think of at least two ways to do this, but hesitate to suggest either when there seems to be much simpler options for what you want that do not require generating this type of value.

• 2. Re: Generate a Random Number
            JakeH

Hi PhilModJunk

Thanks for the rapid reply.