AnsweredAssumed Answered

generate alphanumeric serial number and letter code in a specific order

Question asked by Beowulf on Apr 11, 2013
Latest reply on Jul 24, 2013 by Beowulf

Title

generate alphanumeric serial number and letter code in a specific order

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to FM 12, so please be patient with me. :)

I'm a biologist and setting up a database for birds. Each bird gets a metal ring with a ring number consisting of one letter (which never changes) and 6 digits and a colour ring combination with the metal ring and 3 different colours (i.e. 4 letters).

I have checked the forum and the knowledge database but haven't found this specific topic. What I would need is a script, which generates the ring number as a serial number and then assigns a colour code, which was not used before. Unfortunately there are some circumstances which complicate things a bit.

Ring number:

Ok, first for the ring numbers. For example they all start with the letter N and the 3 first digits specify a series, which runs from 001 to 999 and then a fresh series starts. The thing is that a series is divided into hundred packages, i.e. 10 parts. Let me give an example:

Series N234 consist of packages N234001-100, N234101-200, N234201-300 and so forth until N234901-999 but when I order rings I might not need the whole series or someone else took already part of the series and therefore I might end up with N234001-100 and N234301-400. So I don't know how flexible a script of FM Pro is and if I could adapt it after it already generated some serial numbers. So for example I have first a script for 001-100 and then need to change it to 301-400.