7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2009 8:38 AM by philmodjunk

Generate Layout Only Showing Records Where A Field Is Set to Specific Value

Peakoverload

Title

Generate Layout Only Showing Records Where A Field Is Set to Specific Value

I'm a complete novice to FileMaker and have only been using it for a few hours and so far it makes sense but I've hit a wall and can't work around it.

I'm creating a Fault Logging Database where I have one field called Status which is a Value List and only has two options "Closed" and "Open".

I've also created another layout called "Outstanding Faults" which at the moment gives a summary list of all the records but I only want it to show the records in which the Status field is set to "Open".

How do I get the "Outstanding Faults" layout to only show records that are "Open"?

• 1. Re: Generate Layout Only Showing Records Where A Field Is Set to Specific Value
          philmodjunk

1. Enter find mode.
          2. Select Open from your value list formatted field
          3. Click Find or press the Enter key.

Your layout will show all the records in your "found set" of records. If you haven't performed a find operation, your found set will consist of all records. By performing a find, you can pull up just the records you want to see for a given report.

That's how to do it by hand. You can also do it in a script and set a button or script trigger to do it automatically.

• 2. Re: Generate Layout Only Showing Records Where A Field Is Set to Specific Value
            Peakoverload
               Ahh right, cheers Phil I think I follow you. So it's not possible to have it that when you browse to the Outstanding Faults layout it automatically performs the search and displays the results in a list, i.e. you have to do a search first (either manually or via a button) and then go to the Outstanding Faults layout to view the results?
            • 3. Re: Generate Layout Only Showing Records Where A Field Is Set to Specific Value