6 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2012 6:36 AM by Sorbsbuster

Generating a report from multiple fields

SCoelho

Title

Generating a report from multiple fields

I need to preform a find using a date range. The date range then needs to check other fields and validate if there is data in those fields to gen a report... I am a novice so I am lost any help would be wonderful

• 1. Re: Generating a report from multiple fields
          Sorbsbuster

Why not include those fields in the original search?  If you are trying to find records that match a date range in a date field, and must have data in 3 other fields as well, then define your search as:

Request 1: Date Field = StartDate...EndDate
          Request 2: OMIT Data Field1 [= sign in that field]
          Request 3: OMIT Data Field2 [= sign in that field]
          Request 4: OMIT Data Field3 [= sign in that field]

That will only return records that are in the date range AND have data in all 3 fields.

• 2. Re: Generating a report from multiple fields
            philmodjunk

Or use a single request and enter an * in each field that must not be blank. Wink

• 3. Re: Generating a report from multiple fields
              Sorbsbuster

You sent me an email to explain further.  I have included it here so that you can have the help of all of the forum users.

-----------------

So I am creating a calculation or a script? this is a informal blue print on what I am having trouble with.

Find: Date Range.

11 individual date fields the find needs to search.

than multiple fields need to populate only if they have data in them in the report.

Date:   Service:       Make:       Description:
              ----------------

It will be a script, but you could/should do it manually first.

Searching the 11 date fields is easy - it is just more of the same thing, eg:

Enter Find Mode.
              -Request 1:
              Date Field1 = StartDate...EndDate
              Date Field2 = StartDate...EndDate