3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2011 7:12 AM by Sorbsbuster

Generating daily report/specific date report

AliceYong

Title

Generating daily report/specific date report

Hi there,

I'm fairly new with file maker. Current i'm working on a system for a tour company to manage tour reservation.

For each tour, i've assign the tour start date- end date, the duration ranges from day trips to 2 weeks trips. 

I'm trying to generate a daily tour report to see what on each day. 

Ideally is a find function where i can enter any date ,

the result will be list of trips  matching seached date ie. the searched date falls between the tour start date and end date(tour duration date range)

thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Generating daily report/specific date report
          Sorbsbuster

Can you just confirm what you mean by a 'Tour'? -  eg: you offer a 3-day holiday in Florida and that is one record, you offer a 3-day holiday in New York and that is a second record, and you offer a 2-week holiday in Hawaii and that is a third record.  During that 2-week holiday in Hawaii you offer an excursion to the beach on the 2nd day and an excursion to the mountains on the 4th day, but those dates and excursions are recorded on the 'Hawaii Holiday' record.

That is distinct from you having one Table with the Florida, NY, and Hawaii holidays as one record each, and a related table of Excursions, each Holiday Record having many Excursions linked to it.

If I assume that your 'Tour' is my 'Holiday' and all you want is to find 'Holidays' that will be in progress on a certain date, then a manual 'Find' would be to search for all TourStartDates <= [your chosen date] and on the same find request TourEndDates >= [your chosen date].