6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 26, 2012 12:29 PM by K.Bell

Get oldest and newest date from related record

BenjaminDestrempes

Title

Get oldest and newest date from related record

Greetings,

I am fairly new with FMPro so this may seem like a silly question but it has been bugging me for a while, so I turn to you guys. I am trying to get the oldest and newest date from a related record. Here is what the basic structure looks like:

• t_consultant (table)
        • d_consultant_start_date (date field)
        • d_consultant_end_date (date field)
        • id
      • t_task (table)
        • d_task_start_date (date field)
        • d_task_end_date (date field)
        • k_consultant_id

Basically, each entry in the consultant table can be related to multiple entries in the task table. What I would like to do, is to have the d_consultant_start_date field in t_consultant look through all the related t_task entries and return the earliest date it can find. Likewise, d_consultant_end_date should display the latest date it can find.

t_consultant.id and t_task.k_consultant_id are linked by a relationship.

t_consultant.d_consultant_start_date is a calculation (Min ( t_task::d_task_start_date )) that returns a date value. t_consultant.d_consultant_end_date is the same thing with Max instead of Min. Unfortunately, the two fields will not display anything. All fields contain appropriate values so I assume I am doing something wrong either with the relationship or with the calculation.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks for your time.

EDIT: Gee, formatting is all over the place. My apologies.

• 1. Re: Get oldest and newest date from related record
          philmodjunk

Note: I edited your post to fix the formatting. There is an HTML tag <pre> that screws up the line wrap when it is inserted before a paragraph in this forum. I used the HTML editor to find those tags and remove them.