8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2014 11:14 AM by PaulWirth

Get only unique values of a field

PaulWirth

Title

Get only unique values of a field

I'm still new to FileMaker and I'm sure there's an easy way to do this:

I have data imported from a bank statement in which more than one transaction can share a common ID. What I want to do is total the transactions for each ID and make an entry into a table I have prepared for exporting as a .csv file.

So for:

Amount | ID

$100     | A1

$150     | A1

$100     | A2

$250     | A3

$50       | A3

I'd like to be able to create a table view that shows:

$250     | A1

$200     | A2

$300     | A3

Any help? Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Get only unique values of a field
          PaulWirth

Sorry, that was a typo with the A2 line. The final output should be:

I'd like to be able to create a table view that shows:

$250     | A1

$100     | A2

$300     | A3

• 2. Re: Get only unique values of a field
            asdadsddsdds

Im currently facing the same issue, i tried omitting records, but that messed up my sub-summary sum,any suggestions are very welcome.

• 3. Re: Get only unique values of a field
              philmodjunk

Here are two options, you'll need to consider all possible ramifications before selecting one as the best method:

Option 1: Import all your data into a table. Construct a list view layout with no body part but a sub-summary layout part "when sorted by" your second field. Place a summary field in this sub summary layout part to compute the sub total for each unique value of the second field. Sort your records by that field. When you export this data, you can use the "group by" option to get one row of data for each unique value.