5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2010 2:04 PM by nubee

Get(AccountName)...where do I find this string?

nubee

Title

Get(AccountName)...where do I find this string?

Hi, I am a novice just beginning with FileMaker Pro 10.  I am trying to restrict record access to only certain users.  I have been told that Get(AccountName) is a string that I need to have in a script in order to do this.  However, I have not been able to find the string Get(AccountName).  Where do I find this and how do I add this string into a script?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Get(AccountName)...where do I find this string?
          deltatango

it's not a string, it's a function, and that's just it: Get(AccountName).

It will tell you what the current account name is when used in a calculated value.

When you set privileges for that privilege set, change the edit section to say:

Edit values when:

Get(AccountName) = TheTable::AccountNameField

• 2. Re: Get(AccountName)...where do I find this string?
            nubee

Deltatango,

Thank you for your response and explaining what a function is.  I have read through the forum, but could not find what a function is in simple terms.  Again, I am new and just learning.  Could you possibly help me out with the privilege set?  I go to "privelege set" but do not understand where I go to change the edit section that you suggested.  When in "edit privelege set" I see "data access and design" with four sub-categories with "records, layouts, value lists and scripts."  Where do I go to change the edit section(?) to add:

Edit values when:

Get(AccountName) = TheTable::AccountNameField

Thank you very much.

• 3. Re: Get(AccountName)...where do I find this string?
              deltatango

Hi nubee,