2 Replies Latest reply on May 1, 2014 9:53 AM by davidanders

getting all of my databases to 'talk' with each other

BethSalyers

Title

getting all of my databases to 'talk' with each other

I am new to FileMaker Pro - using the 30 day free trial to see if and how it can help our company grow.  

I've made several different databases with templates (contacts, inventory, estimates, etc).... but fields do not seem to populate using information from another database.  For instance, when doing an estimate I want to be able to click on a pull down menu or something of the sort to choose items from the inventory database.

How do I do this?  

Thanks!

~beth

• 1. Re: getting all of my databases to 'talk' with each other
          philmodjunk

The starter solutions are not designed to share data with each other. You would need to make pretty significant design changes to accomplish that with the starter solutions. You may actually find it easier, if you are new to FileMaker database design, to design your own solution from scratch. I think there's also a solution available that has already set this up, you might web search for "starting point FileMaker" and see what is currently available.

In order to do what you want with a pair of starter solutions, you'd need to do one of two things: