4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2009 11:31 AM by Melinda

Global field perform a find?

Melinda

Title

Global field perform a find?

It's me again...  I am using FM 9 (shared over a network) on a MAC (OS X) and am having trouble with a particular script.  I am a beginner to intermediate FM user, so the more detailed the replies ther better.

I have a layout that collects information in the following fields: Name, Date, AM Activity, PM Activity, LPM Activity.  I want to perform a find that will find ONLY records that contain a particular number, regardless of whether the number (091044, for example) appears in one or all of the Activity fields -- as long as it appears in at least one of the fields, I want the record found.  So, I set up a global field (labeled gSearch), and a button to run the following script:

Set Error capture [ On ]

Go to layout [ Original Layout ]

Enter Find Mode [ ]

Set Field [ ADMIN DATA::AM Activity ; gSearch ]

New Record/Request

Set Field [ ADMIN DATA::PM Activity ; gSearch ]

New Record/Request

Set Field [ ADMIN DATA::LPM Activity ; gSearch ]

Perform Find [ ]

If [ not Get ( FoundCount ) ]

Show custom message [ "No record found" ]

End If

It's not working.  It appears to perfom a find, but it finds ALL records, regardless of the number I asked it to find.

• 1. Re: Global field perform a find?
          philmodjunk

The script looks correct so I'd look at the fields involved and the data they contain.

Did you select "global storage" for gSearch on the Storage tab in Field Options?

Are gSearch and the three activity fields all defined as number or text? Given your example with a leading zero they should all be defined as text.

• 2. Re: Global field perform a find?
            Melinda

I just went back throught the script and Set Field [ ADMIN DATA::AM Activity ; gSearch ] is actually written like this in the script: