13 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2012 4:41 PM by philmodjunk

Go to related record doesn't work

AnitaWoods

Title

Go to related record doesn't work

I am a novice FM user, with a db for my home business as a midwife.  I have never been able to get "go to related record" to work.  I typically use this in a button setup.  I have a Home layout with a list of current clients, based upon TablePregnancy2, with a button that is supposed to GTRR in the layout LOPrenatalChart, also based upon TablePregnancy.  I have a relationship from TablePregnancy to TablePregnancy2.  The button setup lists "get related record from: "TablePregnancy", show record using layout "LOPrenatalChart".  I have tried it multiple ways, "show only related records; match current record only" and "match all records" and with nothing checked in the result options, or with "show in new window".  It never works.  It just takes me to the prenatal chart layout and shows all the records, with the first record displayed.  I have another layout, LOFiles based upon TableFiles with a relationship from TableFiles to TablePregnancy, and the GTRR goes from TablePregnancy, show record using layout LOPrenatalChart. It never goes to the related record, just shows the layout with all the records and the first record is displayed.  What am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: Go to related record doesn't work
          GuyStevens

Where is your button located?

If you have a list I'm assuming you are in a list view. Is your button in the body?

If you could give us some screenshots we might ba able to see what we are talking about.

I use GTRR pretty often, never had any problems with it.

• 2. Re: Go to related record doesn't work
            philmodjunk

"get related record from: "TablePregnancy", show record using layout "LOPrenatalChart"

Try From "TablePregnancy2"

GTRR should refer to a different table occurrence than the one on which your current layout is based.

Think of it this way: