6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2014 1:47 PM by schamblee

Grab GPS location info from 'off form' fields in Contacts database

andyinnyc

Title

Grab GPS location info from 'off form' fields in Contacts database

I'm using the Contacts database supplied with FileMaker Pro 13 as a 'Starter Solution'.

In View, Layout Mode, their appear to be helper fields for use with the mapping function (showing the google map) location.

The field is "Contacts::Location GPS".  I would like to create fields for lat/long which captures these fields (given an address of the contact) so that I can later perform some 'distance from' calculations.

I'm a TOTAL filemaker newbie, so please show some pity.

Thanks for the help.

Andrew

• 1. Re: Grab GPS location info from 'off form' fields in Contacts database
          philmodjunk

But why can't you use the fields that already have this data? Your calculation field can refer to them in order to compute the distance between two addresses. This will be data in two different records? If so, it's a matter of how you select the pair of contact records for which you want to compute the "straight line" distance.

• 2. Re: Grab GPS location info from 'off form' fields in Contacts database
            andyinnyc

Mostly, because I don't know how.  I'm not sure if this is saved with the record and I don't know how to access it to look/test.  I understand the formula for testing distance much better than I understand Filemaker - I've used Access and MySQL, but I've only had Filemaker on the PC for a week.

How would I 'test' a record to see if this field is saved - it doesn't show up on the included views; again, I'm a complete newbie, but coming up to speed (slowly).

Andrew

• 3. Re: Grab GPS location info from 'off form' fields in Contacts database
              schamblee