6 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2011 11:32 AM by alheron

Grand Total problem

alheron

Title

Grand Total problem

OK - first a disclosure - total newbie here Cry

I'm using FM Pro11, loving every minute of it but run into a problem so here goes...

I've got a table of products with their cost and retail prices.  I'm building a simple stock ordering solution so for ease of use the products are selected by Category ( perform Find, Restore and select field Category) which works well.  I have a Summary field which gives a total value to the goods ordered so far.  All works well until I go to the next Category, then my Summary field resets to 0 as it only works on the current found set.  What I need is some kind of Order Total which will retain the value of stock ordered to date without resetting every time I create a new found set (by selecting a new Category)

I would imagine the answer to this is laughably simple, but it has so far eluded me so I'm giving in and asking help from those more experienced please.

Al

• 1. Re: Grand Total problem
          philmodjunk

"resets to zero"? I would think you would get the new total of the new found set, but perhaps you are starting with an empty found set each time you select a different category. How do you tell which records are part of the same order?

Sounds like you need some more tables here. Purchase orders to order stock can be handled just like Invoices to sell stock, it's just that the money travels in the opposite direction.

Thus, you need this structure:

PurchaseOrders---<LineItems>----Products

Here's a very simple Invoicing demo file created by Comment: 

http://fmforums.com/forum/showpost.php?post/309136/

Just think PurchaseOrder when you see Invoice in the tables and layouts of this demo file.