1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 1, 2011 6:29 AM by c.wagner1

Graphical approach to filemaker : the "wtf" time.

RemyFaure-Vincent

Title

Graphical approach to filemaker : the "wtf" time.

Hello,

I am a graphic designer, mainly working with the adobe creative suite in a small company, and a client brought us an old filemaker database for a graphical overhaul. I never used this software before, so I am learning as fast as possible to give him an answer on the feasibility of the project.

My problem is the very, very weird way filemaker treats layout images, and especially the warning that comes with "referenced" files, that they would not be available anymore if anything in their path changed.
      what about instant web publishing then ? it seems to not be able to find my graphic files, whatever their location may be (original folder, which is a subfolder in the fp7 files folder, web folder in the filemaker install, or any combination of subfolders of these).

"inserting" them without reference leads to crappy jpg compression on the web publishing tool, which is a no go as some of the pages will be printed out regularly.

I do not want to use these images as records, only as user interface layout. if I cannot find a way to salvage the original filemaker database and keep our standards of image quality, then we'll have to remake it from scratch in tools that I know better (namely css, php, and sql).

I'd appreciate any info on this part of the software, be they links to ressources or else... 

• 1. Re: Graphical approach to filemaker : the "wtf" time.
          c.wagner1