1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2014 10:24 AM by philmodjunk

Group select calculation

HarryFisher

Title

Group select calculation

I am new to Filemaker

I have a database in progress as follows

the goal is to record chemical spray applications on my farm fields.

I have a table to farm fields , a table of chemical tank mixes, a products table  and a table of application dates and details.

I have set up the mix table to give a name (eg BL1) to a mix of multiple products which each have a given rate of application eg 3Lts/Ha.

On the application table I want to select a farm field (no problem) and a mix (BL1) and enter date of application and Ha sprayed (no problems)

The problem is when calculating units used of each product how do I get a result for each line of the mix as each has a different application rate.

What I want is Zinam 0.4 x 3.8=1.52

Plenum  0.3 x 3.8= 1.14

Bittesaltz 3 x 3.8= 11.4

but as you see from the screen shots I don't as only first record is correct.

If you can help thank you

Harry

Screenshot_%2813%29.png

• 1. Re: Group select calculation
          HarryFisher
          /files/a6931cadcd/Screenshot_%2814%29.png 1280x1024
          • 2. Re: Group select calculation
            HarryFisher
            /files/391e94f61e/Screenshot_%2815%29.png 1280x1024
            • 3. Re: Group select calculation
              philmodjunk

This looks familiar, but please do not assume that I remember any design details from previous threads--I respond to way too many questions to rely on my memory for that.

If I understand the problem, in the last screen shot, the value in the units used column should be produced by the product of Ha (Hectares?) times Rate.

I can see by the leading :: characters,  that the values used in this calculation do not all come from the same table occurrence. Thus, I suspect the relationship linking these occurrences in relationships is producing your unexpected result.