3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2011 11:03 AM by philmodjunk

GTRR and Questionaire layout

TraceyLillis

Title

GTRR and Questionaire layout

I have a database which contains a table for Contact information and another table has a questionaire.  There are over 30 questions on this so having it as a portal is not suitable. 

I want to be able to click on a button in the contact information layout which will take me to the questionaire layout and automatically draw the contact information into this table.  I have tried various combinations of GTTR and have _id_contact in the questionaire table and vice versa on the relationship graph. 

I may be getting things confused when I setup the layout and need someone to please explain the concept in vary basic language (I am very new to FMP). I have been trying to sort this out for a few months now and I guess as a novice it is beyond me.

TIA

• 1. Re: GTRR and Questionaire layout
          philmodjunk

Have you tried searching this forum using "Survey" as your key word? There are several very good discussions several months back that discuss the table structure needed to support a questionaire system.

Your first task is to step back from your script and layout questions and make sure that you have tables and relationships in place that will meet the needs of your questionaire system.

It would help for you to describe your questionaire in more detail.

Will this database be used for more than one questionaire?

How will responses to the questionaire be collected and recorded in the database?

What response formats are needed to record these responses?

What reports do you need to produce from these responses?

• 2. Re: GTRR and Questionaire layout
            TraceyLillis